David Beckmann, president of Bread for the World, and Jo Luck, president of Heifer International, were announced as 2010 World Food Prize laureates for their “landmark achievements in building two of the world’s foremost grassroots organizations leading the charge to end hunger and poverty for millions of people around the world.” Secretary of State Hillary Clinton announced June 16 the winners of the prize created in 1986 by the late Nobel laureate Norman Borlaug to salute outstanding individuals mobilizing citizens to end hunger. Most honorees have been scientists, but Beckmann, a Lutheran minister, is the first clergyperson to be honored. Beckmann became president of Bread for the World in 1991 after a 15-year career with the World Bank. Under Luck’s leadership as president and CEO of the Little Rock, Arkansas–based Heifer International, Heifer’s budget grew from $7 million to more than $130 million.


This article is available to subscribers only. Please subscribe for full access—subscriptions begin at $2.95. Already have an online account? Log in now. Already a print subscriber? Create an online account for no additional cost.

This article is available to subscribers only.

To post a comment, log inregister, or use the Facebook comment box.